Here Is TSC New Grading System For Teachers And Their Salaries

by Business Watch Team

The Teacher Service Commission, TSC, as part of the upgrade, some job groups were eliminated and others merged. Grade P1, which previously applied to tutors in Job Group G, has been replaced by Grade B5 under the new grading system. All primary school teachers will now begin their careers at this grade level.

The other grades that followed were re-structured and re-named as follows: J to C1, K to C2, L to C3, M to C4, and N to C5.

Apart from job groups J to N, there was another rank that belonged to the higher band which was designated as P, Q, and R. These three were later renamed P to D1, Q to D2, and R to D3

As requested by the Kenyan National Union of Teachers, the commission has added job groups S and T. The two categories were renamed D4 and D5, respectively. The chief principals now fall under category D5 of the new grading system.

TSC designation code for teachers After the Salaries and Remuneration Commission undertook the job evaluation exercise, a new grading system was introduced. The grading introduced new job categories for teachers, and the designation codes for these new job groups are listed below

Grade B5 (T-Scale 5) – Primary Educator II

Grade C1(T-Scale 6) – Primary Teacher I, Secondary teacher II, and lecturer III

Grade C2 (T-Scale 7) – Secondary Educator II, Senior Educator II, Lecturer II, and Special Need Education Educator (for primary schools)

Grade C3 (T-Scale 8) – Secondary Educator I, Special Need Education Teacher I (for primary schools), Lecturer I, Senior Teacher I, and Special Need Education Educator II (for secondary schools)

GradeC4 (T-Scale 9) – Senior Master IV, Special Need Education Senior Teacher (for primary schools), Senior Lecturer IV, Deputy Head Educator II, and Special Need Education Teacher I (for secondary schools)

GradeC5 (T-Scale 10) – Senior Master III, Deputy Principal IV, Senior Lecturer III, Deputy Head Teacher, Head Educator, and Curriculum Support Officer II.

Grade D1(T-Scale 11) – Deputy Principal III, Senior Master II, Senior Lecturer II, Curriculum Support Officer I, and Senior Head Educator.

Grade D2 (T-Scale 12) – Senior Master I and Deputy Principal II

Grade D3 (T-Scale 13) – Deputy Principal I and Principals

Grade D4 (T-Scale 14) – Senior Principals

D5 (T-Scale 15) – Chief Principals

According to the 2021-2025, CBA signed by teachers’ unions and TSC, the lowest-earning teacher at grade B5 (The entry grade for primary school teachers) will now earn between KSh21,756 and KSh27,195 per month.

The highest-paid teacher in grade D5 will now earn a monthly salary of KSh157,656. This grade is reserved for Chief Principals.

Related Posts

Copyright © 2023 – All Rights Reserved | Business Watch